BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
vachickenboy
Calcite | Level 5

Hi friends,
I am very new in sas va, i just start learning about sas by registering a account sas va on cloud that contains some apps like SAS vApp Data Manager, Sas management console, SAS Visual Analytic Hub and SaS vApp Ledger. i tried many times to find a way to connect to my data warehouse on oracle db from sas va cloud but i can not see any guide on that, so could anyone help me to draff a fastest way by listing preparation steps (including tools handled this tasks) to generate reports in sas va:
1. Connect to data source( my data warehouse)
2. Preparing data ( join, custom, append...ect.)

3. Design data model

4. Degisn report/dashboard

5. show report

I dont know exactly way that sas sa work, these steps  a lot of tool approachs to build step by step for starting.

i am so sorry for poor question.!

regards,
J. 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
rgreen33
Pyrite | Level 9

vachickenboy,

I too am new to SAS and I have been struggling to get my arms around this beast.  I am not using the cloud, but it sounds as if the same tools are available.  So, let me explain the steps that I have taken to connect to my Oracle db.

In Management Console (assuming that you have your account setup with the appropriate privileges for doing the following):

1. Create a group that will use the Oracle Server and Connection...
    1. Click on the "User Manager" node to show Users, Groups, and Roles.
    2. Now, right-click on the "User Manager" node and select New >> Group.
    3. Give the Group a name, keeping in mind that this will be the group that will be allowed to access the connection to Oracle that we are about to setup (Display Name and Description are optional).