BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
EEARL
Fluorite | Level 6

Hi all,

I’m new to SAS Visual Analytics, so please forgive me if I’ve missed the obvious answer to this, but a search hasn’t yielded anything for me.

We are trying to dashboard the results of a survey using various filters. Most questions visualize correctly, and the data matches the numbers we’ve generated using our flat files. However, we are running into an issue for items where respondents were able to select more than one response option (i.e., “select all that apply” questions). SAS Viya is correctly counting the number of unique responses for each option, but it is incorrectly calculating the percentages those counts represent. What seems to be happening is that Viya is taking each row from the table and adding them together to produce a denominator used in the percentage calculation. However, we need the denominator to use the distinct count of individuals within the whole table, not just within each row. Here’s an example: we have 4430 undergraduate students that took the survey, so the denominator for each row in this chart should be 4430. However, because some respondents selected multiple options, the percentages are being calculated using a denominator of 5230 – the sum of headcounts for each of the rows/bars. Therefore, the 1001 students that selected “academic performance” are being calculated as 1001/5230 (19%) when actually, 23% (1001/4430) of students selected that item.

Any thoughts on how to display percentages based on distinct counts when the categories are not mutually exclusive?

Thanks for any help!

-Elijah

4 REPLIES 4
PetriRoine
Pyrite | Level 9

Hello @EEARL 

Please have a look at this post as it might be a similar type of issue.

https://communities.sas.com/t5/SAS-Visual-Analytics/Calculating-frequency-percentage-by-category-in-...

Best regards,
Petri

EEARL
Fluorite | Level 6