BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
qiaojinggg
Fluorite | Level 6

Hi, I'm trying to display only the last 12 quarters of data in a bar chart form in SAS VA. I came up with a SQL expression using INTNX function that returns me the quarters of DTE_CANCEL in YYQ format. However, I'm not sure how to filter to display only the most recent 12 quarters in Report Designer.  

I'm quite new to SAS VA so any help/idea will be greatly appreciated. Thank you 🙂

INTNX('Qtr', BP13_CANCEL_APPLICATION.DTE_CANCEL, 0,'b')

5 REPLIES 5
AndrewHowell
INTNX('Qtr', BP13_CANCEL_APPLICATION.DTE_CANCEL, 0,'b')

This takes you to the beginning ('b') of the DTE_CANCEL variable's current (0) time period ('qtr').

To get to the beginning of 12 quarters prior to the DTE_CANCEL:

INTNX('Qtr', BP13_CANCEL_APPLICATION.DTE_CANCEL, -12,'b')

qiaojinggg
Fluorite | Level 6

Hi thanks for your answer, however it didnt give me the last 12 quarters, instead it generated some random quarters... 

How can I filter to just display data from last 5 years or last 12 quarters?

qiaojinggg
Fluorite | Level 6

@AndrewHowell Hi thanks for your answer. There was a change of requirement and I'm trying to chart the last 5 years & last 8 quarters & last 12 months now. 

I tried this SQL expression, which outputs me 2011 (last 5 years). However, it is in DATE format, may I know how to use this to filter out last 5 years inside Report Designer? 

INTNX('year', BP13_CANCEL_APPLICATION.DTE_CANCEL, -5,'b')

Can i do the same for last 8 qtr & last 12 months?

Thank you very much! 🙂

AndrewHowell

Ok, just to be specific:

• INTNX will not return a year such as 2011.
  • INTNX returns a SAS date value - a count of days since 1/1/1960. For example, today (21/06/2016) is 20626
  • You can optionally (and typically) apply a format to date values.

data _null_;
       	today=Today();
       	Start_Of_Five_Years_Ago=INTNX('YEAR', Today, -5, 'B');
       	Start_Of_Eight_Qtrs_Ago=INTNX('QTR', Today, -8, 'B');