BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
pedrammobedi
Quartz | Level 8

I am new to SAS and VA. I am trying to load the datasets I want in the Autoload folder so that the data is updated every 15 minutes. The autoload process is run and I see that every new sas file (.sas7bdat) that I put in the autoload folder shows up in VA. The problem is that the loaded data seems to be a snapshot of the results of the first time I created the table in SAS. 

So here is the query I wrote in my SAS file:

proc sql;
connect to odbc as mycon
(datasrc=dsPedramSample user=pedram password=XXXXXXXX);
CREATE TABLE pedramTestTable as 
select *
from connection to mycon
(select top 5 * from [SAS_Datamart].[dbo].[pedramTest]);
disconnect from mycon;
quit;

After running the above query, I copy the resulted SAS file to the autoload folder and run the autoload scheduled task again. I go to VA and it looks ok. Then I go to the pedramTest table in the database and change some of the values and then run reload again. But the information is not changed. 

What am I doing wrong?

4 REPLIES 4
JuanS_OCS
Amethyst | Level 16

Hi @pedrammobedi,

not sure if I understand. Let me refresh here what I could understand, so far.

The initial load your procedure is:

- Run a code that creates a SAS table from a database table.

- Copy that table to SAS VA AutoLoad.

- Run AutoLoad

- Check if the table is loaded within SAS VA

The refresh/update procedure is:

- Change some values on the database

- Run the AutoLoad again

- Check if the table is loaded within SAS VA.

Is my understanding correct? If it is right, then you are missing the refresh of the SAS table, by running the code and copying the table to SAS VA.

If it is wrong, I would appreciate some additional information 🙂

pedrammobedi
Quartz | Level 8

I think you understood correct.

What I need is a way to run the script in that SAS file (the same refresh you mentioned). So I am looking for a script to refresh that table. Can you help me with that?

JuanS_OCS