BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
mcmaxwell
Fluorite | Level 6

I am new to SAS and appreciate any help! I am using SAS Studio.

I have a dataset with three variables (ID number, exam score, and percentage points) and 619 observations. 

I import my excel file to SAS and examine the dataset using the following SAS code: 

/** Import grades file.  **/  
PROC IMPORT DATAFILE="/folders/myfolders/sasuser.v94/Exam 1 Scores.xlsx"  
		    OUT=GRADES  
		    DBMS=XLSX  
		    REPLACE;  
RUN;  

Proc Print data=GRADES; 
run;

I noticed that SAS added three new variables to the right of the data table labeled "D", "E", and "F" (see image below). I tried converting the excel file to a csv file and then uploading the csv file but the same thing happened.

Why is this happening and how do I fix it? Is it better to use excel files or csv files? Are there any tips or tricks for preparing files for import to SAS to make things go more smoothly? 

Thanks!image1.PNG

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
ballardw
Super User

One the many annoyances of Excel is what is a "used cell".

Enter a value in a column. Delete the value. The Column is treated by Excel as used. If you do a file save as to CSV then you will get a set of commas with no values because the column is used, so needs to be "saved" but has no values.

You will also get phantom rows of values when an entire row of values is deleted.

This is happening because the the Excel engine that SAS connects to is told those columns are used.

Doubly annoying, is often deleting those columns just promotes the replacement columns that shifted over to used.