BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
☑ This topic is solved. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
hk24
Obsidian | Level 7

I'm importing a sas7bdat file in sas studio using proc import and one of the variables in the dataset is changing to scientific notation, e.g, 1234567891011121 is showing up as 1.2345678E15

I'm fairly new to SAS and not sure what function would help retain this particular column in its original 16 digit format instead of scientific notation. This column is of numeric data type and its length is being displayed as 8. I have been through other similar posts, but could not find a solution to work with.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Kurt_Bremser
Super User

Asssign a format which is wide enough to accomodate the digits.

Note that 16 decimal digits are right on the verge of numeric precision in SAS, so some of the numbers might not be exactly what was imported into SAS in the first place.

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7
SASKiwi
PROC Star

SAS7BDAT files are already SAS datasets and don't need to be imported. All you need to do is assign a LIBREF using a LIBNAME statement to the folder they are stored in to be able to read them:

libname MyLib '\MyFolder';
hk24
Obsidian | Level 7
Thank you for your response! Libname assigns a libref to the data, but how can I read and view this data in a table format in sas studio? Sorry, I'm still trying to learn sas
Tom
Super User Tom
Super User

The easiest thing to do is to look at the data using CODE.

If the dataset is small just print it.

proc print data='/home/myname/mydata.sas7bdat';
run;

If you want to interactively examine the dataset using SAS/Studio then point a libref to the folder where the dataset lives.

libname mylib '/home/myname/';