BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
BAC
Fluorite | Level 6 BAC
Fluorite | Level 6
2017-04-11 (2).png2017-04-11.png2017-04-11 (2).png 

Hi!

I'm brand new to SAS! I'm using SAS University Edition and I am struggling to get it to find myfolders - any thoughts on what I could be doing wrong? I have followed the steps listed in the SAS University Edition Help Centre on how to create a shared folder in VirtualBox  - but I still can't find it in SAS. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks! 

2017-04-11 (2).png2017-04-11 (3).png2017-04-11.png
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Reeza
Super User

@BAC I think there's a misunderstanding. 

You can use C drive but how you reference it is what matters. You need to use the shared folder paths and Unix notation. Everything else holds constant. The instructions provided will work fine on UE, change the oaths the myfolders structure and you'll be fine. 

1. Move NHANES file to the shared myfolders you created. 

2. Create a new permanent library in SAS UE using the cabinet icon in the Libraries pane. Use the point and click interface for this step since there's an option to click that adds library definition to your autiexec

3. The remaining instructions are valid, make sure to use the proper notation as indicated by Cynthia. 

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7
Reeza
Super User

Same answer so far - screenshots?

BAC
Fluorite | Level 6 BAC
Fluorite | Level 6

My apologies! I thought I had uploaded them. 

Cynthia_sas
SAS Super FREQ
Hi:
When you are using SAS University Edition, you CANNOT use a C: drive location. Typically, you make a folder under your SASUniversityEdition/myfolders location, like this:
C:\SASUniversityEdition/myfolders/newdata
and then to address that folder in a LIBNAME statement, you would have:
LIBNAME mylib "/folders/myfolders/newdata";