BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
sassypixie
Fluorite | Level 6

Apologies in advance, I am very new to SAS and am having trouble with an assignment. 

I'm getting error 161-185 no matching DO/SELECT statement. The assignment is described below: 

Within the datastep create the following new variables:
(a) A new variable called agecat that divides age into 5 categories:45-49;50-54;55-59;60-
64;65-69. Give values 1-5 for the categories.
(b) A new variable called income40 equal to 0 if income is less than $40,000 and equal to
1 if income is $40,000 or more.
(c) A new variable called collgrad equal to 0 if the participant did not graduate from college
and equal to 1 if the participant graduated from college (see study forms for income and
education categories)
(d) A new variable that is the lowest of the two serum potassium values

This is my SAS code right now (still haven't gotten to parts C and D):

libname t '/home/u58860515/';
data tdata; set t.tomhs (keep=age sex income educ hdlbl potassbl potass12);
if age = 45-49 then agecat = 1; else
if age = 50-54 then agecat = 2; else
if age = 55-59 then agecat = 3; else
if age = 60-64 then agecat = 4; else
if age = 65-69 then agecat = 5; end;
if income < 40000 then income40 = 0; else
if income > 40000 then income40 = 1; end;
run;

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
PaigeMiller
Diamond | Level 26

if age = 45-49 then agecat = 1;

This statement does a subtraction (that's what SAS thinks when it sees the character –), and tests to see if age is equal to the subtraction 45 minus 49 which is –4.

I think what you want to do is:

if age<=49 and age>=45 then agecat=1;

An equivalent version of the above, which is less typing is:

if 45<=age<=49 then agecat=1;