BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
skavli
Calcite | Level 5

Hi,

I'm new to sas macro and i'm wondering how I could rename the prefix of my variables that have the same prefix using a sas macro, I have found something in the internet but it does not seem to fit, can you help me please ?

%macro RenameList(vars= , prefix=);
   %let list=;
   %do i = 1 %to %sysfunc(countw(&vars));
      %let var=%scan(&vars,&i);
      %let list= &list %sysfunc(catx(=,&var,&prefix.&var));
   %end;
   &list
%mend;
12 REPLIES 12
PeterClemmensen
Tourmaline | Level 20

Do you want to rename all variables or just some of them?

skavli
Calcite | Level 5
I have approximatively 70 variables like this IPN_RAORAOR1 .... IPN_RAORAOR41 IPN_VOLVOL1 ... IPN_VOLVOL29 and i want to substitute the prefixes with another string, I want to use a macro to be able to do that to other datasets where i might encouter the same issue
PaigeMiller
Diamond | Level 26

@skavli wrote:
I have approximatively 70 variables like this IPN_RAORAOR1 .... IPN_RAORAOR41 IPN_VOLVOL1 ... IPN_VOLVOL29 and i want to substitute the prefixes with another string, I want to use a macro to be able to do that to other datasets where i might encouter the same issue

No macro needed. A macro variable (not the same thing as a macro) is needed.

proc contents data=have out=_contents_ noprint;
run;
proc sql noprint;
    select cats(name,'=new_',substr(name,5)) into :renames separated by ' ' from have where name eqt 'IPN_';
run;
proc datasets library=work;
    modify have;
    rename &renames;
run; quit;

This renames variables in data set WORK.HAVE whose names begin with IPN_ to begin with NEW_

--
Paige Miller
Astounding
PROC Star

You should realize that you are asking for complexity when simplicity will suffice.  With variables that have the same prefix and a numbered suffix, renaming is easy.  Consider:

rename IPN_RAORAOR1 - INP_RAORAOR41 = prefixA_1 - prefixA_41
       IPN_VOLVOL1 - IPNVOLVOL29    = prefixB_1 - prefixB_29;
skavli