BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
charlo77
Calcite | Level 5

Hello guys,

I am new to SAS. I am trying to connect SAS university edition to SQL SERVER using windows authentication mode. Both are installed in my local machine. I followed the instructions listed here

https://communities.sas.com/t5/SAS-Analytics-U/Connect-to-SQL-Server-Oracle-Database-by-SAS-Universi...

but keep having the error below. Please can you help?

ERROR: CLI error trying to establish connection: [Microsoft][ODBC Driver Manager] Data source name not found and no default driver

specified
ERROR: Error in the LIBNAME statement.
5 REPLIES 5
Reeza
Super User

SAS UE is not designed to connect to a server. I don't believe that's an acceptable use either. 

I'm assuming by SAS UE you're referring to a version you downloaded from this website or AWS, not a version provided by your University. 

If you're affiliated with a University you can get a full version either free of charge or for a small nominal cost. 

@charlo77 wrote:

Hello guys,

I am new to SAS. I am trying to connect SAS university edition to SQL SERVER using windows authentication mode. Both are installed in my local machine. I followed the instructions listed here

https://communities.sas.com/t5/SAS-Analytics-U/Connect-to-SQL-Server-Oracle-Database-by-SAS-Universi...

but keep having the error below. Please can you help?

ERROR: CLI error trying to establish connection: [Microsoft][ODBC Driver Manager] Data source name not found and no default driver

specified
ERROR: Error in the LIBNAME statement.

SASKiwi
PROC Star

Please post your LIBNAME statement.

charlo77
Calcite | Level 5

LIBNAME z PCFILES SERVER='192.168.56.1' DSN=AdventureWorks2012 USER=XXXX
PASSWORD=xxx SCHEMA=dbo readbuff=10000 access=readonly;

SASKiwi
PROC Star

Check in the ODBC Administrator that you have an SQL Server ODBC driver installed and you have used that to create a Data Source Name called AdventureWorks2012.