BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
shihabur
Obsidian | Level 7

Hello everyone, SAS beginner here. Using SAS University Edition from a Mac. I am trying to import a file "inventory.sas7bdat" by creating a library. I have used this piece of code in windows while using SAS from server. But not being able to make it work here.

Here's my code:

LIBNAME abcd "/folders/myfolders";
data abcd.inventory;
infile "/folders/myfolders/inventory.sas7bdat";
proc print data = abcd.inventory;

I am getting this error message -

58 infile "/folders/myfolders/inventory.sas7bdat";

ERROR: File is in use, /folders/myfolders/inventory.sas7bdat.
NOTE: The SAS System stopped processing this step because of errors.
WARNING: The data set ABCD.INVENTORY may be incomplete. When this step was stopped there were 0 observations and 0 variables.
WARNING: Data set ABCD.INVENTORY was not replaced because this step was stopped.

For your information:
- I am using virtual box VM
-i have checked the shared folder and the data file is inside the folder

Screen Shot 2016-10-13 at 8.55.13 PM.pngScreen Shot 2016-10-13 at 9.00.42 PM.png
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Reeza
Super User

You don't import a sas file per se. 

You reference it using libname.data_name. 

Libname abcd ... 

Data inventory; * dataset to be created;

set abcd.inventory; *data being used in data step;

run; 

View solution in original post

21 REPLIES 21
Reeza
Super User

You don't import a sas file per se. 

You reference it using libname.data_name. 

Libname abcd ... 

Data inventory; * dataset to be created;

set abcd.inventory; *data being used in data step;

run; 

shihabur
Obsidian | Level 7

I ran the code:

Libname abcd '/folders/myfolders';
Data inventory;
set abcd.inventory;
run;

It shows an error message saying "Error: the table work.inventory can not be opened because it does not contain any columns"