BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
GlennGail
Fluorite | Level 6

I have just begun an effort to migrate existing z/OS based programs from the mainframe to Linux.  I am using SAS Studio to run the programs.  So far everything has worked smoothly and I am very pleased with SAS Studio.  One mystery has me scratching my head...  When I create/update .CSV files in my SAS program that are written on the server my email step cannot find the file unless I log off SAS Studio and log back in.  Then it finds the file.  A minor annoyance, but I am sure there is a solution.  I am new to SAS Studio, but I am not new to the SAS Programming language.   

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
GlennGail
Fluorite | Level 6

Thanks for your suggestion...  It does not seem to be a timing issue.  I have no idea what the "root cause", but I have have found that if I begin the program with PROC OPTSAVE then issue the PROC OPTLOAD after creating the .CSV files and before the email code everything works great...  Now I will start digging in to understand why this works...

Ok, did a PROC OPTIONS at the beginning of the program and then again before the MAIL code and put the before and after in files then ran a compare... 

I believe the root cause is the OPTIONS parameter NOCAPS/CAPS is the culprit...

Start of program:  NOCAPS Does not convert certain types of input, and all data lines, into uppercase characters.

Later in program:  CAPS Converts certain types of input, and all data lines, into uppercase characters.

So...  The simple fix is to add OPTIONS NOCAPS before the email  

View solution in original post

17 REPLIES 17
JackHamilton
Lapis Lazuli | Level 10

I have not had that problem on Solaris Unix.  Are you closing the file before you attempt to email it?

Posting the code you use might be helpful.

GlennGail
Fluorite | Level 6