BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
sk2706
Calcite | Level 5

Hi, 

I am new to SAS. I am using SAS Studio University Edition through AWS. I am trying to read a sas7bdat file but not able to do so. After uploading the data from my local machine in the SAS Studio, I run the following program to access it:

proc print data = "/folders/myfolders/TargetFile.sas7bdat";

run;

However, I get the following NOTE:

NOTE: No variables in data set /folders/myfolders/TargetFile.sas7bdat.

Also, I cannot open it by double clicking the file. I get similar error. Looking forward for some help! 

Thanks,

Santanu

10 REPLIES 10
ballardw
Super User

How did you upload the data? Do you know which version of SAS made the data set? There are a few cross-platform issues that may make the set unreadable by your install.

sk2706
Calcite | Level 5

Hi ballardw,

I uploaded the data using the upload functionality of SAS studio in the AWS console. I do not know the version of the SAS in which the data file was prepared but I am using 9.4. I wonder if such basic functionality issues may arise due to cross-platform differences!

BrunoMueller
SAS Super FREQ

Hi

It is possible to create a SAS data set with 0 obersvations and 0 variables, see code below. Run Proc CONTENTS on the data set and have a look at the output. As a general advice, I would avoid the use of physical names for a SAS data set, but rather use a LIBNAME statement.

data new;
stop; run; proc contents data=new; run; proc print data=new; run;

Bruno

sk2706
Calcite | Level 5

Hi Bruno,

I have a data file with a X columns and Y rows. But when I read the contents of the data after uploading it in SAS, the data is not read. It shows 0 variables and 0 indexes, 0 observations. However, I want the data to be read as Y observations, X variables.

Thanks,

Santanu

BrunoMueller
SAS Super FREQ

Hi Santanu