BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
mcgannmary
Calcite | Level 5

I am new to SAS and using the free e-learning program. I'm on the first step of creating a library and the code is correct: "libname pg1 "C:\Program Files\SASUniversityEdition\myfolders\data";

I keep getting this message and the library is not created,

NOTE: Library PG1 does not exist. 74

I'm running SAS through Virtual Box. Might that have something to do with the inability to create the library? How can I create libraries using Virtual Box, if that is the problem

Thanks in advance for any help!!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Cynthia_sas
SAS Super FREQ

Hi:

Another possible problem is that when you download the zip file for the Programming 1 class, we tell University Edition students to put the main folder (and all the sub-folders) under their /myfolders location with a main folder name of EPG194.

So the correct LIBNAME statement, if you followed those instructions would be:

libname pg1 "/folders/myfolders/EPG194/data";

When I look at your code, I do not see the EPG194 folder in the path. One way to find the actual path in your SAS University Edition installation is to look under the My Folders location for the EPG194 folder, then look for the data folder under that location. Right click on the data folder and select Properties. You should see the University Edition path to your data folder in the Properties window.

If you do not have an EPG194 folder then you need to go back to the Course Overview instructions and follow them again.

Hope this helps,

Cynthia

View solution in original post

23 REPLIES 23
BrianGaines
SAS Employee

@mcgannmary,

Try to change the code to: 

libname pg1 '/folders/myfolders/data';