BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
Salih
Calcite | Level 5

Hello,

I am a beginner stat student. I am trying to plot observed and predicted Poisson and negative binomial probabilities against the

data observed. I have no experience or prior knowledge of graphing. I am getting lost in all complex explanations.

Can you please help me in simplest way of accomplishing this task? 

Below is my syntax. How do I plot predicted Poisson and negative binomial probabilities against the sample below?

data world;
input scores @@;
datalines;
5 1 6 3 2 1 2 1 1 2 1 3 3 3 3
4 1 1 1 2 1 3 2 2 3 7 3 3 7
4 3 3 3 2 4 2 0 3 3 3 2 4 2
1 1 1 3 7 3 2 2 2 5
;

proc means data=world n mean var;
run;
/* Mean= 2.67 and Variance=2.56. The data is a good canfidate for poisson distribution. */

proc genmod data=world;
model scores= /dist=poisson link=log;
run;

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
StatDave
SAS Super FREQ

Another example that produces both an observed vs. expected plot (using PROC COUNTREG) and a test of the fit (using PROC FREQ) is shown in this note.

View solution in original post

4 REPLIES 4
Rick_SAS
SAS Super FREQ

Follow the example in the article "Fitting a Poisson distribution to data in SAS."

The only difference is that your response is named 'scores' instead of 'N' and your counts are 0-7 instead of 0-13.

SGPlot48.png

Salih
Calcite | Level 5

Can you please share the link again? It is not working.

StatDave
SAS Super FREQ

Another example that produces both an observed vs. expected plot (using PROC COUNTREG) and a test of the fit (using PROC FREQ) is shown in this note.

sas-innovate-2024.png

Join us for SAS Innovate April 16-19 at the Aria in Las Vegas. Bring the team and save big with our group pricing for a limited time only.

Pre-conference courses and tutorials are filling up fast and are always a sellout. Register today to reserve your seat.