BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
☑ This topic is solved. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
scottyoung77
Fluorite | Level 6

Hi,

I'm brand new to the SAS environment and am trying to load/open a password protected data file in SAS but keep getting the "opening of password protected data sets is not supported" error message (see attachment). I wouldn't normally ask, but I'm getting the sense that this might be related to the version of SAS I'm using? The organization that owns the data set (the National Institute of Alcohol Use and Alcoholism - a division of the NIH) is insisting that SAS does support password protected data sets and that the issue is on my end.

So I guess I'm not sure if the issue is that SAS doesn't support password protected data files in general? That the version I'm using doesn't support them? Or something else entirely? I'm accessing SAS Studio through SAS OnDemand for Academics (Release: 3.81 - Enterprise Edition). At least I think that's the version I'm using - like I said, I'm brand new and it's a little hard to tell with all of the different versions and components of SAS that are available (version info attached as well).

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!
Scott
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
12 REPLIES 12
SASKiwi
PROC Star

Do you know on what OS this dataset was created and how it was downloaded from the provider? What is the file extension of the dataset? SODA runs on Linux so if the dataset was created under a different OS then that might cause issues.

scottyoung77
Fluorite | Level 6

Thanks SASKiwi - I appreciate the assist!

Unfortunately, I don't know what OS the dataset was created on. Is there a way of determining that from the file itself? As for how it was downloaded, I downloaded a compressed folder from the NIH's secure file transfer service (https://secureemail.nih.gov/bds/Login.do). And the file extension is sas7bdat.

Does any of that help narrow things down?