BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
_Zack_
Fluorite | Level 6

Hi, i'm new to MIP and i'm trying to use lag function inside a User-Defined Logic in SAS Model Implementation Platform to look back several previous value from previous simulationhorizon, but end up getting below error.

ERROR: The program lag length is not defined. Either a variable depends recursively on its own lagged values, or there is a sequence of more than 20 delayed definitions of lagged variables.

below is my code:

beginblock main;

if simulationhorizon <= NO then do;

INT_LAG1 = lag1(INT);

INT_LAG2 = lag2(INT);

INT_LAG3 = lag3(INT);

if simulationhorizon = NO then ACCUM_INT = sum(INT, of INT_LAG:);

end;

_value_=1;

endblock;

Or maybe is there any better ways to get previous (eg: lag2, or lagX) value rather than using lag function?

2 REPLIES 2
ballardw
Super User

I don't know about MIP bu the LAG function generally does not work as expected inside any "if" type structure as the lagged value(s) come from the last time the "if" was true, not the immediately preceding record. So you can be looking at considerably different values than expected. The typical approach is to unconditionally assign the Lag value to a variable as you have done prior to the condition and then conditionally use those values.

So maybe, and I am guessing here as no experience with MIP, moving the LAG calls to before the "if simulation horizon" would address this. Might require a second set of variables though like:

beginblock main;
   L1 = lag1(INT)
   L2 = lag2(INT)
   L3 = lag3(INT)
   if simulationhorizon <= NO then do;
   INT_LAG1 = L1;
   INT_LAG2 = L2;
   INT_LAG3 = L3;
   if simulationhorizon = NO then ACCUM_INT = sum(INT, of INT_LAG:);
   end;
   _value_=1;
endblock;