BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
Dublin187
Calcite | Level 5

Hi all,

this is a beginner's question. Since I started programming over 6 months ago, I still struggle with how to reference to the file location and use the data sets I just created to build on them with further modifications.

What to choose between infile and set statement....

I usually go for Set statement because it's easier but in this example, SAS doesn't recognize the new data set I created 

filename Orders24 '/home/XXX/my_courses/XXX/c_8568/dly_orders.sas7bdat';
libname course '/home/XXX/my_courses/XXX/c_8568';

data orders;
SET course.dly_orders;
if Order_type = 1 then Ordr_Type_Label = 'In-store';
if Order_type = 2 then Ordr_type_label = 'Catalogue';
If Order_type = 3 then Ordr_type_label = 'Web';
run;
proc print data=orders; run;

data INSTORE ;
set course.Orders (keep = Order_ID Customer_ID Order_Date Ordr_Typ_Label) ;
run;

Here are my questions :

- How can I create a new dataset from the one I just created? when I refer to course.orders, SAS doesn't recognize it and the new variable created can't appear. 

Log : ERROR: The variable Ordr_Type_Label in the DROP, KEEP, or RENAME list has never been referenced.

- What is wrong with my filename statement? in the first data step, I had to refer to the file with its original name, (not the filename from the filename statement because it wouldn't work')

Thank you in advance for your help

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
PaigeMiller
Diamond | Level 26

You don't have a data set named COURSE.ORDERS, you have a data set named WORK.ORDERS. That's because you created it with a one-word name, and so it resides in the WORK library.

If your data set was created with 

data course.orders;

then you would need to refer to it as COURSE.ORDERS.