BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
☑ This topic is solved. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
Epi
Calcite | Level 5 Epi
Calcite | Level 5

Edited: added SAS table file as well as the output needed.  Thank you to those who have already responded. I have not had a chance to try the code in responses at this time.   I'm new to this posting questions.  I'm usually able to recycle code from other programs or code I find online.

Hi everyone,

I have a variable where is tells me if the race is just alone or "Two or more races".  For the ones where race is 'race, alone', simple coding:

if SINGLE_TOM_RACE NE 'Two or more races' THEN DO;
 if SINGLE_TOM_RACE = 'American Indian/Alaskan Native, Alone' then race1 = 'R1';
	else if SINGLE_TOM_RACE = 'Asian, Alone' then race1 = 'R2';
	else if SINGLE_TOM_RACE = = 'Black/African American, Alone' then race1 = 'R3';
	else if SINGLE_TOM_RACE = 'Native Hawaiian or other Pacific Islander, Alone' then race1 = 'R4';
	else if SINGLE_TOM_RACE = 'White, Alone' then race1 = 'R5';
	else if SINGLE_TOM_RACE = 'Other/Unknown' then race1= 'UNK';
	else race1='';
end;

I'm having brain freeze on when SINGLE_TOM_RACE is 'Two or more races'.  I know I need an array.  Each observation is unique.  Race categories run from Race1a -- Race15a.  Data dictionary is in the table below:

columncodeDecedent's race literalIMPORT RESULT NEEDED 
RACE1aY, N, UWhiteR5 
RACE2aY, N, UBlack or African AmericanR3 
RACE3aY, N, UAmerican Indian or Alaska NativeR1 
RACE4aY, N, UAsian IndianR2.01 
RACE5aY, N, UChineseR2.06 
RACE6aY, N, UFilipinoR2.08 
RACE7aY, N, UJapaneseR2.11 
RACE8aY, N, UKoreanR2.12 
RACE9aY, N, UVietnameseR2.19 
RACE10aY, N, UOther AsianR2 
RACE11aY, N, UNative HawaiianR4.01.001 
RACE12aY, N, UGuamanian or ChamorroR4.02.001 
RACE13aY, N, USamoanR4.01.002 
RACE14aY, N, UOther Pacific IslanderR4 
RACE15aY, N, UOtherUNK 

IMPORT FILE HAS RACE VARIABLES RACE1-RACE5 AVAILABLE FOR MULTIRACIAL CASES