BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
Brian3
Obsidian | Level 7

Hi,

the situation I have is a list of macro variables like follows;

var_2030

var_2031

var_2032

etc.

During the data step, which involves a loop, I need to use more than one:

data test;

x=2;

do i=1 to 3;

%let t=2030+i;

If x<&&var_&t then put 'success';

%end;

run;

Unfortunately, &&var_&t resolves as (var_2030) + i instead of (var_(2030+i)).

I've tried using %let t=%sysevalf(2030+i) but it then complains that there is a character variable instead of numeric. I also understand this may be related to macro values being evaluated before data steps are executed, so is this possible?

Thanks very much.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Reeza
Super User

@Brian3 wrote:

Hmm I've never used arrays before. Ok so

data test;

x=2;

%let var1=4;

%let var2=1;

%let var3=2;

array &var[3];

do i=1 to 2;

If x>&var[i] then put 'success';

end;

run;

The X-Y Problem, as it is sometimes called, is a mental block which leads to enormous amounts of wasted time and energy, both on the part of people asking for help, and on the part of those providing help. It often goes something like this:

• User wants to do X.
  • User doesn't know how to do X, but thinks they can fumble their way to a solution if they can just manage to do Y.
  • User doesn't know how to do Y either.
  • User asks for help with Y.
  • Others try to help user with Y, but are confused because Y seems like a strange problem to want to solve.
  • After much interaction and wasted time, it finally becomes clear that the user really wants help with X, and that Y wasn't even a suitable solution for X.