BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
Jarvin99
Obsidian | Level 7

Hi all, I am really new to SAS...I would like to know whether I can remove certain rows by restricting that gvkey_startdate <= fiscal_year <= gvkey_enddate. The raw database looks like this:

Person_id

Company_id

gvkey

Gvkey_startdate

Gvkey_enddate

Fiscal year

roa

Abcd

27Nov1999

27Sep2010

Abcd

20Jan2011

Abcd

27Nov1999

27Sep2010

Abcd

20Jan2011

Sdfg

01Apr2000

Sdfg

01Apr2000

Cvbn

01Sep1999

30Jun2005

Cvbn

01Sep1999

30Jun2005

Cvbn

01Sep1999

30Jun2005

The final product I want should be like this:

Person_id

Company_id

gvkey

Gvkey_startdate

Gvkey_enddate

Fiscal_year

roa

Abcd

27Nov1999

27Sep2010

abcd

20Jan2011

Sdfg

01Apr2000

Sdfg

01Apr2000

Cvbn

01Sep1999

30Jun2005

Cvbn

01Sep1999

30Jun2005

cvbn

01Sep1999

30Jun2005

It will definitely help me a lot if you have a solution if you can remove a row based on other columns. Thank you.

10 REPLIES 10
PaigeMiller
Diamond | Level 26

What does it mean to test if a year is between two dates? Can you explain this?

Do you mean any part of the year is between the two dates? Or do you mean the entire year is between the two dates? Or do you mean Jan 1 of that year is between the two dates? Or do you mean something else?

How does the logic work when gvkey_enddate is missing? Explain that too.

--
Paige Miller
Jarvin99
Obsidian | Level 7

Do you mean any part of the year is between the two dates?

Answer: yes. So any date of the fiscal_year 2000 should be between gvkey_startdate and gvkey_enddate.

How does the logic work when gvkey_enddate is missing? Explain that too.

Answer: if the gvkey_enddate is missing, treat it as not ending yet. The reason why there is this gvkey_startdate and gvkey_enddate is due to the M&A. Hence, a company_id named 'Abcd' was acquired by the gvkey=8801 on 20Jan2011 and continues to be acquired until now.

Hope my reply clarifies! Thank you for your help.

PaigeMiller
Diamond | Level 26