BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
Phil_NZ
Barite | Level 11

Hi all SAS Users,

Today, when reading a suggestion from @ballardw  about TAGSORT in dealing with large dataset, I touched a document.

When reading this document, there is one point quite strange to me

My97_0-1616319392058.png

It is quite strange to me because the view is just an input or an instruction, not a dataset, how come we sort it afterward.

My understanding is "We can not sort a VIEW".

Could you please explain it to me?

Warm regards.

Thank you for your help, have a fabulous and productive day! I am a novice today, but someday when I accumulate enough knowledge, I can help others in my capacity.
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
FreelanceReinh
Jade | Level 19

There's no need for extra "Save" or "Save as" actions. Just use the Windows Explorer to navigate to the WORK library and then open the .sas7bvew file with Notepad. To find out the physical path of the WORK library you can use:

%put %sysfunc(pathname(work));

which will write the path to the log. In my default local SAS EG installation (which I normally don't use, therefore it's not customized) the path contains 11 (eleven!) subfolder names.

View solution in original post

17 REPLIES 17
FreelanceReinh
Jade | Level 19

Hi @Phil_NZ,

@Phil_NZ wrote:

It is quite strange to me because the view is just an input or an instruction, not a dataset, how come we sort it afterward.

My understanding is "We can not sort a VIEW".

It's not the view itself that is sorted, but the dataset created by executing the instructions stored in the view. See the two blocks of notes in the log from the PROC SORT step: The first refers to the view (TEMP) and the second to the dataset (WIDE) used by the view.