BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
☑ This topic is solved. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
Angmar
Obsidian | Level 7

Hi, I'm very new to macro writing. Thanks in advance.  I appreciate this community.

I'd like to write a code that can cycle through combinations of:

year; max, min, and average pay (and their associated graph labels); and months of the year (and their associated graph labels) 

without me having to change the combinations manually in the macro myself. 

I'll paste my code and a bit of an example of the combinations below:

%let Year = first;                                                                           /*looking at 10 years of data*/ 
%let payv=pay_Average;                                                           /*pay variable*/ 
%let payv =pay_Minimum; 
%let payv =pay_Maximum; 
%let payv _label=Average Pay ;                                              /*pay variable for figure labels*/ 
%let payv _label=Minimum Pay ; 
%let payv _label=Maximum Pay ; 
%let spendv= spend;                                                                   /*money spent variable */ 
%let spendv_label = money spent                                           /*money spent label for figures*/ 
%let months_range=BETWEEN 1 and 6;                                /*Set months range here */ 
%let months_range=BETWEEN 7 and 12; 
%let months_label=Jan to June;                               /*Months used for figure labels*/ 
%let months_label=July to Dec; 

Three examples (out of many) of what I want the macro to do without having to manually type in the combinations: 

1. The programme should output money spent for the first year of the average pay and its label on the figure should match this (i.e., payv_label is Average Pay). This will be for months 1 to 6 and its label on the figure should match this (i.e., months_label is Jan to June).