BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
asasha
Obsidian | Level 7

I am new to SAS and need help with macros. How can I create global variables that are outputs of other functions? For example: 

proc univariate data=dsn;
	var AMT;
	output out=mypctl 
                pctlpre=P_ 
		pctlpts= 40, 95;
run;

After I obtain the two values, I want use them for filtering:

data dsn;
	set dsn;
	where 60 < AMT < 7900 
		and DT <= '30Nov2018'd;
run;

I would like to avoid hard coding the values and set them as variables instead. The same applies to the date filter. The hard coded date was obtained as (the maximum date minus 1 year) after I looked up what the maximum date was. I could do this in R by setting something like

UL <- mypctl[1,2]

LL <- mypctl[1,1]

UL_DT <- max(DT) - years(1)

and use them in the data step for filtering. How can I do this in SAS? Even better if I can set those percentiles and the years to substract in the beginning of the program. Thanks!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
PaigeMiller
Diamond | Level 26

Same way. Compute the maximum date using PROC MEANS or PROC UNIVARIATE and then include it into the data set via the same method (if _n_=1 then set ...) You would use the INTNX function to find the date one year earlier.

proc means data=dsn noprint;
    var amt dt;
    output out=stats p40(amt)=p40 p95(amt)=p95 max(dt)=maxdt;
run;

data dsn1;
    if _n_=1 then set stats;
    set dsn;
    if p40<amt<p95 and dt<intnx('year',maxdt,-1,'s');
run;
--
Paige Miller

View solution in original post

6 REPLIES 6
Reeza
Super User

Merging in data is usually easier than creating global variables.

https://github.com/statgeek/SAS-Tutorials/blob/master/add_average_value_to_dataset.sas

Global variables would be macro variables.

UCLA introductory tutorial on macro variables and macros
https://stats.idre.ucla.edu/sas/seminars/sas-macros-introduction/