BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
chelseah
Fluorite | Level 6

I've searched the sas community and have tried changing the format of my where statement and can't figure out why sas won't recognize the rows with the date '201801'. I'm a beginner coder and suspect its my lack of fully understanding date formats that is creating the problem. 

So I have a date variable 'dob' which is formatted mm/dd/yyyy. I create a new variable 'birthmo' from the dob variable to create a date with the format yyyymm. The variable is created correctly (or so I think) and when I do a frequency on birthmo it shows 44k occurences of 201801. But when I try and filter the data using 'where birthmo = '201801'd;' I get this error:

ERROR: Invalid date/time/datetime constant '201801'd.
ERROR: Syntax error while parsing WHERE clause.

Or if I change the code to read 'where birthmo = 201801;' it comes up with an empty dataset. 

CODE:

data cohort ;
set m.mpcf_201801 m.mpcf_201802 m.mpcf_201803;
birthmo = dob;
FORMAT birthmo yymmn6.;
run;

data cohort2;
set cohort;
where birthmo = '201801'd;
run;

Sample DATA:

individual iddob
134510/20/2015
3153456/5/2018
4659/28/2010
113541/1/2018
13411/23/2018
3521/24/2018
46522/8/2013
4355/14/2009
1221/18/2018
12536/19/2004
4637/10/2016
789861/22/2018
251231/2/2012

Thank you for your help!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
novinosrin
Tourmaline | Level 20

Correcting your Where statement(methinks the following should do)

where put(birthmo,yymmn6. -l) = '201801';

View solution in original post

6 REPLIES 6
novinosrin
Tourmaline | Level 20

Correcting your Where statement(methinks the following should do)

where put(birthmo,yymmn6. -l) = '201801';

chelseah
Fluorite | Level 6

It's like magic!  No need to create the birthmo variable either! Thank you!

novinosrin
Tourmaline | Level 20