BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
babykxy
Calcite | Level 5

I am new in sas area, I run below code got error message as below, please help me figure out that, thanks,

NOTE: Line generated by the invoked macro "LOOP".

7 select count (distinct presc_ord_npi) as &value1 from bhrx_presc as a where

----------

7 ! gnrc_name like "&value"; quit;

ERROR 22-322: Syntax error, expecting one of the following: ',', AS, FROM.

code:

%macro loop(values);   
       %let count=%sysfunc(countw(&values));                                                                                       
     %do i = 1 %to &count;                                                                                                             
      %let value=%qscan(&values,&i,%str(,));  

%let value=%sysfunc(dequote(&value));
  %put &value;
    %let value1= %qscan(&value,1);
   proc sql;
select count (distinct presc_ord_npi) as &value1  from bhrx_presc as a where gnrc_name like "&value";
      quit;
     %end;                                                                                                                                                                                                            %mend;                                                                                                                                        

%loop(%str('METHYLPHENIDATE HCL','DEXTROAMPHETAMINE/AMPHETAMINE,CLONIDINE HCL'));

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
novinosrin
Tourmaline | Level 20

Ok, now you really made me read your code. 

The problem is in your count, Try the below correction and let me know if that works

%macro loop(values);
%let count=%sysfunc(countw(&values,%str(,)));
%put c=&count;
%do i = 1 %to &count;

%put value1=&value1;
proc sql ;
select count (distinct presc_ord_npi) as &value1 from bhrx_presc as a
where gnrc_name like "&value";
quit;
%end;
%mend;