BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
Ashpak
Calcite | Level 5

Hi Team

I have Dynamic SQL with Pivot Functionality , could you please help how to create this PROC SQL

here is my code which runs in SQL server. Same SQL code I need to use in

PROC SQL procedure

DECLARE @Effdt NVARCHAR(MAX) = ''

DECLARE @Query NVARCHAR(MAX) = ''

SELECT @Effdt += + QUOTENAME(eff_dt)+ ','

FROM

(

SELECT DISTINCT eff_dt

FROM [reference].[AL_ALM_RATE_INDEX]

) AS eff_dt

SET @Effdt = LEFT(@Effdt, LEN(@Effdt)-1)

--print @Effdt

Set @Query=' select * from

(

select data_point, EFF_DT,RATE_INDEX,RATE_INDEX_NAME from [reference].[AL_ALM_RATE_INDEX]

where len(RATE_INDEX_NAME)>0 and RATE_INDEX_NAME not like ''FTP_%''

)a

pivot

( max(RATE_INDEX)

for EFF_DT in ('+@Effdt+')

)pivts'

--PRINT @Query

EXECUTE sp_executesql @Query

9 REPLIES 9
Reeza
Super User
Can you use explicit SQL Pass through?
Ashpak
Calcite | Level 5

I'm new to SAS ,

Could you please help with me that how to use explicit SQL in SAS?

ketpt42
Quartz | Level 8

This documentation will help: SQL Pass-Through Facility Specifics for Microsoft SQL Server . However, without knowing your specific SAS environment, it's going to be difficult to assist you without more information from you. Are you running a local version of SAS, or in a server/grid environment? If a server environment, how is authentication to SQL Server handled in your environment? 

Reeza
Super User

You can use pass through, which lets you pass your SQL commands directly to the server. 

https://www.lexjansen.com/sesug/2017/DM-57.pdf

If you need to migrate this code to SAS, that's a different task and you'll likely want to switch this out of SQL and use either a data step or macro language.

UCLA introductory tutorial on macro variables and macros
https://stats.idre.ucla.edu/sas/seminars/sas-macros-introduction/

Examples of common macro usage
https://communities.sas.com/t5/SAS-Communities-Library/SAS-9-4-Macro-Language-Reference-Has-a-New-Ap...

Ashpak