BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
luvscandy27
Quartz | Level 8

Hello everyone!. I'm new to posting and I am not a SAS expert so please bear with me.

I have a code which I run monthly for a 13 month time period (i.e. if i run the code in October it will cover OCT 2018 to OCT 2019. The goal of the code is to determine how many birds were registered within a year of the enter date and how many birds were registered within the grace period which is a year plus 90 days of the enter date. After that is determined I calculate a compliant
percentage by adding the total birds registered within the year plus total birds registered within the grace period and divide by the total population for that month. The population totals come from a proc freq which is made in an earlier step which is not mention below.The mon_yr variable is also made in a previous step which is not listed below.

The output is created using proc report by simply displaying each variable. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Beginning Data
ENTERDATE BIRDTYPES MON_YEAR ID REGDATE poptotal
7/31/2019 BLUEBIRD JUL_2019 100 11/2/2019 2
7/31/2019 BLUEBIRD JUL_2019 200 12/8/2018 2
8/31/2019 ROBIN AUG_2019 300 12/19/2017 2
8/31/2019 ROBIN AUG_2019 400 9/19/2019 2
9/31/2018 SPARROW SEP_2018 500 6/8/2019 2
9/31/2018 SPARROW SEP_2018 600 4/13/2019 2

SAS Code

/*in order to be considered compliant the birds would need to be registered within 365 plus 90 days of the file date*/

/*in order to be considered compliant the birds would need to be registered within 365 plus 
90 days of the enter date*/

/*calculate relevant start and end dates*/
data test1;
set test0;

startdate = (intnx ('month', enterdate, -12, 'e'));
endate = (intnx ('month' , enterdate, -0, 'e' ));
extentiondate = (intnx ('month' , enterdate, -15, 'e' ));

format startdate enddate extentiondate mmddyy10.;

run;

/*check dates*/
proc freq data = test1;
table birdtypes * startdate* enddate* extentiondate / list missing;
run;