BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
land0220
Calcite | Level 5

New to the forum so I apologize if I'm not doing this right.  Using PCSAS 9.4.  I'm trying to create a report of how many minutes certain Staff doctors worked with Resident doctors or Nurses.  My raw data looks like this:

encounterstart_timestop_timeprovider_nameprov_title
123410:01am11:56amDr. AppleStaff
123410:01am10:54amDr. OrangeResident
123410:54am11:10amJames PeachNurse
123411:10am11:56amDr. OrangeResident

What I want to end up with is a summary of how many minutes each provider worked with the others, by encounter:

encounterstaffresidentnursemins
1234Dr. AppleDr. Orange 99
1234Dr. Apple James Peach16

I'm assuming some sort of RETAIN or ARRAY may be necessary, but I have little to no experience with these functions.  I appreciate any help!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
novinosrin
Tourmaline | Level 20

Hi again @land0220  Here is a PROC SQL solution

data have;
infile cards truncover;
input encounter	(start_time	stop_time) (:time8.)	provider_name & $12. prov_title $:12.;
format start_time	stop_time time8.;
cards;
1234	10:01am	11:56am	Dr. Apple	   Staff
1234	10:01am	10:54am	Dr. Orange	   Resident
1234	10:54am	11:10am	James Peach	   Nurse
1234	11:10am	11:56am	Dr. Orange	   Resident
;

proc sql;
create table want as
select encounter, provider_name, prov_title, prov_title1, prov_name, sum(overlap) as Overlap
from
(select a.encounter, a.provider_name, a.prov_title,
b.prov_title as prov_title1,b.provider_name as prov_name,
a.start_time,a.stop_time,
ifn(b.start_time-a.start_time<=0,sum(abs(b.start_time-a.start_time),b.start_time),
sum(b.start_time-a.start_time,a.start_time)) as t1,
ifn(b.stop_time-a.stop_time<=0,b.stop_time,b.stop_time-(b.stop_time-a.stop_time)) as u1,
intck('minute',calculated t1,calculated u1) as Overlap