BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
agbpilot
Obsidian | Level 7

Hi, I'm new to arrays and do loops and I've read through the posts but can't seem to get my code to work as intended.  I'm trying to create new variables using an array.  Basically, I'm trying to extract the words from a string of words contained within owner_city field.  Since the # of words fluctuates across obs I've derived a field, num_words_own_city, using countw.  Now, I'm attempting to use this field, num_words_own_city, to define the last element in the range of the array.  Can the last element of the array be dynamic across obs based upon a variable count of words within num_words_own_city?

I'm hoping to create new columns (parsed words) vs. new rows.  Any ideas or assistance would be much appreciated.

Andy

data intl;
set stacked;
/*length word $60.; set longest length of word*/

where owner_type2 = 'OUT_CNTRY' /*; test*/
and prpty_adrs = '3317 CANYON VALLEY TRL' ;

/*count words delimited by a space within the owner city field*/

delim = ' ';
num_words_own_city = countw(owner_city, delim);

/*create an array to represent the words extracted from the owner_city field - count of words is variable*/

array words_parsed {*} $60 words_parsed1-words_parsed(num_words_own_city) ;

/*iterate through owner city field parsing out word by word untill iterations > the count of words*/

do i=1 to dim(words_parsed);
words_parsed{i} = strip(upcase(scan(owner_city, i, delim)));
/* output;*/
end;

run;

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
ballardw
Super User

An example of @Reeza's approach number 2.

Obviously untested code as I don't have your data set.

data _null_;
   set stacked (keep= owner_city);
   retain maxwords;
   num_words_own_city = countw(owner_city, ' ');
   maxwords=max(maxwords,num_words_own_city);
   Call symputx('maxwords',maxwords);
run;

data intl;
   set stacked;