BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
Jeff_DOC
Pyrite | Level 9

Good morning. I've inherited code from long ago that suddenly has stopped running. I can't seem to figure out what's happened here. The issue, as noted in the log is "The meaning of an identifier after a quoted string might change in a future SAS release. Inserting white space between a quoted string and the succeeding identifier is recommended." However, this doesn't appear to be the only error. I'm not good with macros so I can't seem to figure this one out.

One thing I had thought of, based on other posts, was the format of the data in &report_date_txt. This date is 03/2002 and so has a special character. 

As I said, I'm not good with macros so I don't really understand what's potentially happening here. Can anyone offer some suggestions?

I believe the first section is from the compiler and the second is from the actual run.

Thank you very much.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Tom
Super User Tom
Super User

To enter a constant or literal value you use quotes.  If the value is not a character string the the character(s) immediately after the closing quote tell SAS what type of value it is.  So D means DATE and T means TIME and there are others. The warning is because you have a P immediately after the quote in the second line below, but not in the first line.

put """OC"""','"""&report_date_txt."""','"""PrisonerHousedBydoC"""',' prisoners_housed_by_doc ',';
put """OC"""','"""&report_date_txt."""','"""PrisonersOutsourced"""','prisoners_outsourced ',';

You should probably just go ahead and insert spaces around all of the items in your PUT statements, that should solve the issue.

put """OC""" ',' """&report_date_txt.""" ',' """PrisonerHousedBydoC""" ',' prisoners_housed_by_doc ',';
put """OC""" ',' """&report_date_txt.""" ',' """PrisonersOutsourced""" ',' prisoners_outsourced ',';