BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
robulon
Quartz | Level 8

Hi all,

I'm hoping someone can assist me with this - I have written some code that creates a data set where a couple of the variables are Excel formulas. What I want to be able to do is then to export the data set as an Excel file and for the formulas to be active as soon as I open the sheet.

This is the part of the code that creates the Excel formula variables (the variables in question are Exchange1 and backed): -

data all_sel_4_1;
set datasets.all_sel_2_1_&csv_file.;
length Exchange1 $ 300;
horse = compress(horse,"`");
cell_1 = strip(put(_n_ + 1,best.));
cell_2 = strip(put(_n_ + 4,best.));
Exchange1 = cats("=IF(ISNA(VLOOKUP(D",cell_1,",&excel.,3,FALSE)),",'"','"',",VLOOKUP(D",cell_1,",&excel.,3,FALSE))");
backed = cats('=IF(F',cell_1,'="",0,1)');
time_run = timestamp;
drop cell_1 cell_2 timestamp;
run;

I have little experience in using ods but if I try to create an xlsx file using this code 

ods excel file="/folders/myfolders/Excel/Outputs/&csv_file._Merge_2.xlsx" style=normal options(formulas='on');
proc print data=all_sel_4_1 noobs;
run;
ods excel close;

the xlsx file is created but when I open it, the Exchange1 variable shows the full text of the formula in the cell. If I click the cell, press F2 and enter, that activates the formula (forgive me if that isn't the correct terminology). The formula for the backed variable is active as soon as I open the sheet.

To get around this, I have been using ods html and creating an xls file: -

ods html file="/folders/myfolders/Excel/Outputs/&csv_file._Merge_2.xls" style=normal options(formulas='on');
proc print data=all_sel_4_1 noobs;
run;
ods html close;