BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
Reese00
Calcite | Level 5

Hello all,

Please forgive me as I am very very new to SAS and have been tasked to learn SAS without formal training. I have a macro that currently pulls data from a very large file (a list of employee expenditures by employee id) and separates the data into 4 different groups depending on the kind of expenditure it is (ex: ID#100 - #212 = clothing, ID#220 - #411 = food, ID#440 - #575 = housing, ID#600 - #722 = supplies). Currently, I have a %LET statement (%LET MONYR = SEP21) that allows me to run it for each month. I now need to change that %LET so that I can run it for an entire fiscal year. I have researched for a few days to try and understand the best way to do this but I am at a loss (this is probably due to my very low level beginner SAS knowledge). Any guidance would be greatly appreciated!!!

18 REPLIES 18
PaigeMiller
Diamond | Level 26

So if you run the program on a specific day (let's say today, January 5, 2022), how do you determine what value to assign? How do you determine what value to assign on other days?

--
Paige Miller
Reese00
Calcite | Level 5
Hi Paige,

We determine the value to assign it by what our analysts need at that time. For example, as of today January 5, 2022 we are currently doing a large testing effort and the analysts need this data for all of FY20-FY21 so I need to be able to run this program today for October 2019 - September 2021 at one time instead of having to run the file 24 times and having 24 separate files. Essentially, on any day we need to be able to run it for any specified time but it's always by month since that is how the data is organized in the larger source file. I hope this answers your question!
SASKiwi
PROC Star

Without knowing how your code handles date processing and also how you want your multiple date data organised, it is near impossible to offer any useful advice. Can you post your program so we can see what it does?