BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
cmues
Fluorite | Level 6

Hi everyone

I would like to add a variable to my data that indicates wether or not the value in V1 matches the value in V2. 

V1 is actually mostly empty, most rows don't contain a value. If there is a value, it can be any combination of the values possible for V2 separated by a comma (,). I've sketched a bit of an example. 

More general, I want to check if the string/character(?) in V2 shows up in V1, regardless of order or size. 

V1V2Match
 a10
a1, b1a11
b2, b3, c6b21
c4, b2b21
BOa10

I've tried something with find, but I think I get an error related to the missings in V1?

DATA my_data;

Match = FIND(Var1, Var2) gt 0;

RUN;

I'm very new to SAS, so sorry if I made a silly mistake. Thanks a bunch though!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Kurt_Bremser
Super User

Get rid of leading/trailing blanks in the string you are searching for:

data have;
infile datalines dlm="09"x dsd truncover;
input V1 $ V2 $;
datalines;
 	a1
a1, b1	a1
b2, b3, c6	b2
c4, b2	b2
BO	a1
;

data want;
set have;
match = findw(v1,strip(v2)," ,") > 0;
run;

And please supply your example data in the future in manner like above (data step with datalines), so we immediately have something to develop and test code against without having to make guesses about variable attributes and content.

View solution in original post

2 REPLIES 2
Kurt_Bremser
Super User

Get rid of leading/trailing blanks in the string you are searching for:

data have;
infile datalines dlm="09"x dsd truncover;
input V1 $ V2 $;
datalines;
 	a1
a1, b1	a1
b2, b3, c6	b2
c4, b2	b2
BO	a1
;

data want;
set have;
match = findw(v1,strip(v2)," ,") > 0;
run;