BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
CathyB
Calcite | Level 5

Newbie here, so my references come from the spreadsheet world.  I'm learning, though.

I have a table from a DESCRIPT step that has created my inputs for a chart.  But I will have many of these such tables I will combine, so I need a way to identify the source table which is a variable since it will eventually be part of a macro. But for now, my incoming dataset is hardcoded as Z_HCCOVR.

The output will be Z_HCCOVR2, and that works fine, but it contains not only the TabName field, but the dataset name as another field, both unpopulated.   TableNo is a field known to be populated.

Using examples from other community replies, I have the following, which doesn't work. 

Where am I going wrong?

%let VAR = Z_HCCOVR;

data &var.2;
     set &var;       
length TabName $15;
       where XYZ ne 0;     
if tablelno ne . then
do;
TabName = pathname(&var);
end;
run;

Many thanks to all who contribute to this community.  I've learned a lot from you.

Cathy

4 REPLIES 4
Tom
Super User Tom
Super User

First thing is to learn how to use SAS code before trying to use macro code, even simple macro variables.

The PATHNAME function wants a LIBREF or a FILEREF to operate on. 

You called it this way:

pathname(Z_HCCOVR);

So that says take the value of the variable named Z_HCCOVR and then look for a FILEREF or a LIBREF with that name and return the physical path that it point to.

What are you actually trying to do?

CathyB
Calcite | Level 5

Clearly, I'm trying to run before I can walk.

I would like to insert the incoming dataset name into the  output dataset as a variable to be able to identify the source data.

Cathy

Tom
Super User Tom
Super User
Depends on how it is INCOMING. If you are using a SET statement in a DATA STEP then you can use the INDSNAME= option of the SET statement.
Look it up in the documentation.
Reeza
Super User