BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
MonsterGnom
Calcite | Level 5

Hey people,

I'm new to SAS and I'm sorry if this problem has a very simple solution that I'm to blind to see.

I want to define a Macro variable called "write_forward(varnames= , typelist=)" and the goal is to enter variables and the type of the variables to replace missing values of the variables with their last observation. Therefore I wrote:

%macro write_forward (varnames, typelist);

data forward;
merge sorted_spread (in=a)
           sorted_transaction (in=b);
by time;

retain _&varnames.;
if &varnames. = &typelist.
then &varnames. = _&varnames.;
else _&varnames. = &varnames.;
drop _&varnames.;

run;

%mend;

%write_forward (varnames= ask
,typelist= .);

And it works fine if I only enter one variable. The problem is that as soon as I enter more than one variable in the form of:

%write_forward(varnames= ask bid

,typelist= . .)

SAS takes this as a line and enters "ask bid" as varnames instead of entering "ask" and then do it again for the next element of the line "bid".

I searched quite a while for a solution but found nothing that explains my exact problem. I hope you can help me and if there are any necessary informations missing please just tell me and I will post them.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Kurt_Bremser
Super User

So you need to repeat these statements

retain _ask;
if ask ="."
then ask = _ask;
else _ask = ask;
drop _ask;

for a series of variables.

Step 1: replace explicit varnames with macro variable, and set the macrovar

%let var=ask;
retain _&var.;
if &var. ="."
then &var. = _&var.;
else _&var. = &var.;
drop _&var.;

To iterate through your variable list, do

%do i = 1 %to %sysfunc(countw(&varnames.));
  %let var = %scan(&varnames.,&i.);
  /* your code to repeat */
%end;

View solution in original post

9 REPLIES 9
PaigeMiller
Diamond | Level 26