BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
jpprovost
Quartz | Level 8

Hi folks,

I have a dataset that contains 3 types of observations, let says Payor (P), Insured (I) and Payor-Insured (PI).

I've made a simple dataset with the following code for demonstration purpose.

data test_retain;
infile datalines;
input
no_police 3.
rel_police $1.
no_cov 3.
rel_cov $1.
;
datalines;
110P
222P
    110I
    465I
;
run;

The first two lines are the payor of the policy #110 and #222. They are not insured, so they have missing values.

However, the insured of those two policies are the 3rd and 4th rows. They are not the payor, so they have missing values.

What I would like to do is to use the RETAIN function (I'm new with this one and I struggle a lot to do what I want to achieve) to scan the policy # (no_police) and to grab it back into the coverages line.

By example, the 3rd line is the insured of the 1st line which is the policy owner. Is there a way to use the RETAIN function to "scan" the policy number and when no_police = no_cov, then copy that no_police in the line of the insured ?

I've tried this but obvisouly I really don't know what I'm doing -.-.

data test_retain2;
set test_retain;
retain no_police;
if first.no_police = no_cov then no_cov = first.no_police;
run;

Any help would be very useful. Thanks in advance. The desired result should look like this:

110  P   .    .

222  P   .    .

110  .   110  I

.    .   465  I

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
jdwaterman91
Obsidian | Level 7

Depending on what your ultimate goal is, it may be better to combine the data into a single rows where the no_police value equals the no_cov value (This also is dependent on whether you have rows with the same values in either of these columns).