BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
LzEr23
Obsidian | Level 7

Hello.

I am a newbie to SAS programming and I need a help on unzipping the gz and zip files using SAS.

I have a .zip file which contains several .csv.gz files within it.

I could find how to unzip .zip files and how to open .gz files, but it seems quite complicated to do both at once.

what I need is to create a new unzipped files of .csv files. (or, just reading as datasets would be helpful too)

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
ChrisHemedinger
Community Manager

SAS 9.4 has a native capability to read ZIP files using FILENAME ZIP.  And it if you have SAS 9.4 Maint 5, the method also supports GZIP files.

Because you have a ZIP of GZ files, you're looking at a two step process.  First, expand the members of the ZIP file with FILENAME ZIP.  I have some examples in this blog post.  Note that the process involves "reading" each ZIP member and writing it as a new file to a temporary space -- effectively copying it out of the ZIP archive.  At the end of this step, you would have a collection of *.csv.gz files in your temp space.

You would then use FILENAME ZIP GZIP to reference each of those csv.gz files in turn.  You don't need to explicitly decompress those -- once you assign that fileref, you should be able to process the file with DATA step.  See this blog post about reading GZIP files.

Check out SAS Innovate on-demand content! Watch the main stage sessions, keynotes, and over 20 technical breakout sessions!

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5
RW9
Diamond | Level 26 RW9
Diamond | Level 26

Why do you have two levels of compression in the first place? Sounds like a zip from linux has then been moved over to windows, where someone else has then zipped them, bit daft.

Anyways, most zip programs, winzip, 7zip should be able to deal with both file types.  So you would need to: