BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
jcsimmo
Fluorite | Level 6

Just some background I am a physician with a comparatively strong understanding of computers (enough to build my own rig: i7 8700K, 64 GB of ram, m.2 samsung SSD, nvidia gtx 1070) who is self-taught SAS. I run queries on a dataset that is 30GB located on my SSD and I guess would love someone to help me understand how I can determine if my hard drive is bottlenecking my system.

Just to be clear, I have updated my SAS config file to the following

-cpucount 6

-memsize 60G

-threads

-realmemsize 56G

-sumsize 60G

-sortsize 60G

When I look at the resource monitor, my CPU hovers around 11%, the RAM utilization is 10%, and the I/O speed on the disk is 30mb/sec. I looks like neither the CPU or RAM is limiting me but its hard to believe that an m2 hard drive is limiting me as well. I have two questions

• How can I determine what’s bottlenecking my system
  • What type of hard drive benchmark (read, write, seq-read/write, 4k read, 4k write, 4k mixed) is most applicable to the performance of SAS.
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Kurt_Bremser
Super User

Out of experience, I'd go for the disks that give you the highest continuous write throughput. Most of the time, SAS does sequential reads and writes on datasets; random access happens mostly in utility files created when you do complicated SQL joins/operations.

SSDs have the big advantage that they don't create latencies when concurrent use (or SQL, as noted above) forces random accesses; if you can't satisfy your I/O needs with one drive, get several and create a striped volume over them. Also keep WORK/UTILLOC volumes physically separate from the rest of your storage.

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5
VDD
Ammonite | Level 13 VDD
Ammonite | Level 13