BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
hjinp
Fluorite | Level 6

Hello,

I am a graduate student who recently finished up an Introduction to Statistical Computing course which covers most of what is on the SAS Base Programming Exam Guide. However, I would like to gain a better understanding and to practice more of the basic concepts in SAS while working my way towards taking the Clinical Trials Certification test. Does anyone have any recommendations for starting out in SAS? What books, tutorials or study methods helped you? Thank you!

-hjinp

7 REPLIES 7
ChrisNZ
Tourmaline | Level 20

There are many tutorials on the sas website, and some courses are free for a limited time.

See https://www.sas.com/en_nz/training/offers/free-training.html

hjinp
Fluorite | Level 6
Thanks so much!
ed_sas_member
Meteorite | Level 14

Hi @hjinp 

You can get more familiar with SAS programming by using the SAS® Certified Professional Prep Guide: Advanced Programming Using SAS® 9.4. It is a great book to learn useful techniques / procedures such as PROC SQL, macro language, arrays and advanced programming techniques.

As the clinical trials programmer certification focuses on clinical trials process, accessing, managing and transforming clinical trials data, statistical procedures and macro programming, reporting clinical trials results and validating clinical trial data reporting, I would suggest that your reinforce your skills on SAS reporting (proc print, proc tabulate, proc report, ODS tips) as it is not covered at all by the "Base" nor the "ADVANCED" preparation, and it is an important part of the clinical programmer job. There is an e-learning on this topic (e.g. SAS Report Writing 1 - Essentials) and also some dedicated books (e.g. PROC TABULATE by Example, Second Edition; Carpenter's Complete Guide to the SAS® REPORT Procedure).

There are also some industry-focused books (cf. one on the pharmaceutical industry and 2 or 3 on clinical trials) which will give you meaningful examples.