BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
SAS93
Quartz | Level 8

I'm new to SAS macros, but have put some together using online help and other resources to (mostly) automate a SAS program I need to regularly run. My current code starts off by setting up a dataset using survey data (establishing weight and strata vars, recoding, etc.). Then I have several separate macro programs that perform separate tasks meant to output various pieces I use later for putting into the report's Word document. These macros are solely for iterative/space-saving purposes to run a certain procedure once for each of the many variables I tell it to use.

The data step and the subsequent proc steps (within their macros) all run perfectly when I run them one at a time. The issue I'm having is that running the entire code itself either results in skipped output from the macros while other output is produced, the "most recent" macro to run will output its data under the name of the file that was supposed to be produced before it, or this same thing will happen with two+ output files--the output will be perfect, but the file names will be reversed. 

I understand that macros are compiled first in SAS code, so I'm not sure if its an issue with invocation or something entirely different, but I'd appreciate anything I've overlooked. An example of my ugly macros are below; I'm not able to share actual data due to its sensitivity:

* Set macro list of vars;
%let varnames=
	RACE2  age  BMI  FPL  WIC  Division  Urban  Married  edu   
	insur    
	intended
	any_method
	effective
	pre_vist  PNC_1TRM  checkup  flu  FLUPREG  DDS_Cln    
	pre_diet  pre_exer  mvitamin  vitamin      
	sleep  sleep_alone  approved_surface   
	BF5EVER  wk_length; 

ods html close;
ODS NOPROCTITLE;
%macro yearly;
	ods excel file="C:\Exports_&startyr-&endyr..xlsx";
	ods excel options(sheet_interval="none" sheet_name="Original_5 Year");	
	    %do i=1 %to %sysfunc(countw(&varnames));
	         %let thisname=%scan(&varnames,&i,%str( ));