BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
wowJH
Calcite | Level 5

Hello all,

I'm new to SAS, using version 7.15 of Enterprise Guide, and have been tasked with exporting data to a specified range on an existing Excel sheet. I read that if you have SAS/ACCESS Interface to PC Files you can assign a libname that refers to the workbook you want to export to, then you can refer to any named ranges within that workbook.

I ran a proc setinit and verified that I do have SAS/ACCESS Interface to PC Files, so I tried writing a libname statement that looks like this:

libname WrkBk EXCEL "Filepath/Workbook.xlsx";

Where Filepath/Workbook.xlsx were replaced with the actual file path and workbook name.

This gives me the following two errors: 

ERROR: The EXCEL engine cannot be found.
ERROR: Error in the LIBNAME statement.

I've also tried using ODS and the XLSX engine, however neither of those can use named ranges. Any and all thoughts on how to resolve this issue are much appreciated.

Best Wishes,

JH

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Reeza
Super User

EXCEL is the old libname method, I believe that's still for xls files.

To use PCFILES, you need to use the PCFILES keyword.

libname myRef PCFILES path='path to excel file';

XLSX is the other common approach, but I don't think that supports writing to ranges.

libname myNewRef xlsx 'path to xlsx file';

If the PCFILES doesn't work, post back with the log. 

Did you confirm what was licensed vs installed as well?

@wowJH wrote:

Hello all,

I'm new to SAS, using version 7.15 of Enterprise Guide, and have been tasked with exporting data to a specified range on an existing Excel sheet. I read that if you have SAS/ACCESS Interface to PC Files you can assign a libname that refers to the workbook you want to export to, then you can refer to any named ranges within that workbook.