BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
fikel
Obsidian | Level 7

Hello, I have a dataset where my exposure of interest is the level of a particular nutrient and the outcome is cancer. I wanted to find the level of nutrient at which splitting the cohort at that point had the lowest (most significant) p-value. An example of the interpretation of this level would be: people who consume more than 100 units of this nutrient have a 20% lower risk of cancer with a p-value of 0.003.

I created a macro to basically split the cohort at a specific level of the nutrient and run Proc PHREG to give me the hazard ratio's and associated P-values comparing the individuals with intake above the cutpoint to individuals below the cutpoint. I wrote a data step to run this macro at multiple different nutrient levels. I am still very new at SAS and was hoping to find out if there was a way to store the p-values and hazard ratios from the multiple Proc PHREG procedures, so I can use a data step to find the minimum P-value or even plot the p-values by the cutpoints.

Here is the macro:

%macro dichotomize(dsn,var,cutoff,i,dichotvar);
%LET iteration = &i;

data want&iteration;
		set want_someday;

if &var =. then &dichotvar = .;
		  else if &var le &cutoff then &dichotvar=0;
		  else if &var gt &cutoff then &dichotvar=1;
		run;

proc phreg data = want&iteration;
		title "Colorectal-cancer incidence attempt";

class &dichotvar (ref="0") menopause_with_males (ref="0") race (ref="1") hhincome (ref="1")
				enrollment_source (ref="C") fh_colorectalcancer (ref="0")
				BMI_category_expanded (ref="0") alcohol_category (ref="0") smokestatus_packyear (ref="0") hei10_category (ref="0")
				; 
		model eof_age_CRC*Inc_CRC(0) = &dichotvar 
				menopause_with_males race hhincome enrollment_source 
				BMI_category_expanded totalactivitymethr smokestatus_packyear Comorbidity_Index