BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
dkstoneman
Calcite | Level 5

I'm new to SAS programming. I would like the syntax to start a MS Access database macro at the end of a SAS program. I've taken over some SAS programs that use the following syntax to kick off an Excel macro:

/*Opens the Excel macro prior to establishing the DDE to run the Excel VB macro***/
%let xlsMacro = \\wpmfiles\Intraday_Forecasting\30 Day Charts\Auto_Morning_Reports.xlsm;
options noxsync noxwait;
x "'&xlsMacro.'";

Is there syntax like this to start a macro in MS Access?

5 REPLIES 5
SASKiwi
PROC Star

If you are using a remote SAS server you can't start MS Access at all. This will only possibly work if you have SAS installed on your PC and you are using a local SAS session. You can write from SAS to an MS Access database without opening it though.

dkstoneman
Calcite | Level 5

The SAS application I'm using is on my local desktop computer. I know you can pass data to an Access database from SAS. I need the SAS program to open an Access database and then run a macro within that database. I have to do additional data manipulation in the Access database and then publish that new information to Excel workbooks via the macro. The additional manipulation can't be performed by a SAS program.

SASKiwi
PROC Star

So have you tried this outside of SAS on a Windows command line and it works? 

According to Google this should work - MSACCESS.EXE appName.mdb /X=macroToBeExecuted

dkstoneman
Calcite | Level 5

I don't know how to kick off MS Access from a command line, but I can call Access and run the macro from Task Scheduler and other applications outside of SAS. Here is my process follow for what I'm trying to accomplish:

• I kick off SAS via Windows Task Scheduler to import data from another source
  • Next a SAS program parses out the necessary data into individual tables and runs calculation processes