BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
stormblaster98
Fluorite | Level 6

I have a WORK library filled with datasets, within these datasets are data ENTITY_ID,  and MONTH. 

For each dataset in the WORK library (called UT_01-UT_78), I want to split the original datasets up into multiple datasets sorted by the same ENTITY_ID and MONTH.

Here is an example:

/* Original Dataset Called: UT_01 */
ENTITY_ID MONTH
Jake 11JAN19
Bob 11DEC17
Jake 11NOV18
Jake 11JAN20
Bob 11DEC18
Jake 11NOV21

/* Split up to new file called: Jake_JAN */
ENTITY_ID MONTH
JAKE 11JAN19
JAKE 11JAN20

/* Split up to new file called: Jake_NOV */
ENTITY_ID MONTH
JAKE 11NOV18
JAKE 11NOV21

/* Split up to new file called: Bob_DEC */
ENTITY_ID MONTH
Bob 11DEC18
Bob 11DEC17

The reason I want to split up datasets is to be able to present them in a easier way when I export as an excel file.

I am a SAS beginner so detailed help is appreciated.

6 REPLIES 6
PaigeMiller
Diamond | Level 26

Why is this necessary? If you export one great big large Excel file, the user can then use the Filter in Excel to obtain Bob December records. Seems to me to be the easiest solution.

But anyway, this question how to split up large data sets in SAS gets asked probably once a week and a search of this community ought to find lots of examples with code.

--
Paige Miller
stormblaster98
Fluorite | Level 6

There are many tables that must be split with multiple entities and months in each so having it automated before exporting to excel is far better.

Yes I've been reading those however I am stuck on how to sort by ENTITY_ID and MONTH. I am also stuck on how I can split each dataset in the WORK library, right now I am only able to split 1 dataset at a time.

ballardw
Super User

@stormblaster98 wrote:

There are many tables that must be split with multiple entities and months in each so having it automated before exporting to excel is far better.