BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
MHines
Obsidian | Level 7

Hello,

This is my first time posting -- please excuse me if it is confusing. I am currently reading a text file into SAS. Because the data was character delimited but follows an inconsistent pattern, I originally read the text file into SAS and saved it as a SAS file such that all of the variables and associated data within the delimiters was saved as a single variable (entered here as Var_umbrella). I am now attempting to split the catch-all variable into multiple columns. The original file is delimited with the vertical bar " | ", but the variable names are included inside the delimiter. The complicating factor is that each row/observation does not include all of the variables; if the variable was blank for that row, it was omitted from the data entirely for that row (that is not something I can change, unfortunately. The data was given to me as-is and the source will not make adjustments to it). This is what it looks like:

Case #       Var_umbrella

Row 1        |Var_1 a | Var_2  b | Var_3 c | Var_4 d | Var_5 e |

Row 2        |Var_1 f | Var_4 g |

Row 3        |Var_2 h | Var_3 i | Var_5 j |

Row 4        |Var_5 k|

This is what I am trying to get it to look like:

Obs #     Var_1     Var_2     Var_3    Var_4    Var_5

Row 1      a            b             c            d            e

Row 2      f             .               .            g            .

Row 3      .             h              i             .             j

Row 4      .             .               .             .            k

I tried using the index and =scan(var,n,'delimiter') functions as follows to create the new columns:

data want;

data have;

if index(Var_umbrella,'Var_1')>0 then Var_1=scan(Var_umbrella,1,'|');

if index(Var_umbrella,'Var_2')>0 then Var_2=scan(Var_umbrella,2,'I');