BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
pmorel3
Obsidian | Level 7

Hello everyone,

I'm a beginner in sas and I'm wondering a question.

After my 2 regressions, I would like to know whether the difference between my 2 intercepts is statistically significant or not.

Could you please help me to write the appropriate code ?

All of my variables are numbers.

proc reg data=modelization outest=est; /*1*/
      M1: model rp=rm / selection=rsquare b best=1;
	  MFS1: model rp=rm rm_zdy rm_ztbl rm_ztms rm_zdfy / selection=rsquare b best=1;
   proc print data=est;
   run;

9 REPLIES 9
Norman21
Lapis Lazuli | Level 10

If I understand your question correctly, you want to compare the coefficients of different models. A method for doing this is described here:

https://stats.idre.ucla.edu/sas/faq/how-can-i-compare-regression-coefficients-across-three-or-more-g...

Norman.
SAS 9.4 (TS1M6) X64_10PRO WIN 10.0.17763 Workstation

PaigeMiller
Diamond | Level 26

I don't think that link covers the same situation as here, where two models are computed from the same data.

I don't think there is a canned test to compare intercepts from two models on the same data, other than by creating your own -- Intercept1 and Intercept2 are estimates which have a normal distribution (under certain assumptions), but they are NOT independent as they are based upon the same data.

So, my thoughts are that the only real way to compare these is via a simulation in the form of a randomization test or a permutation test, and even then that does not account for the fact that the intercepts should be different in different models. Why? Since the second model has additional terms added, I would expect the intercepts to NOT be the same, unless the additional terms added were orthogonal to the other terms in the model (as in a designed experiment) in which case then the intercepts should not change.

--
Paige Miller
pmorel3
Obsidian | Level 7

Thanks Paige for your answer.