BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
flachboard84
Calcite | Level 5

Hello,

I'm new to SASPy. I previously used R extensively but am currently migrating for performance reasons.

I'm first creating a table that provides a list of members.

Next, I want to create a proc sql data request using that list of members. I tried creating a string that looks like this: ('55555', '64646', '97979', ...) and feeding that into my proc sql statement. However, there seems to be a character limit. I'd prefer not to chunk the list up, do a for loop, and then union the data.

How can I add this list to my proc sql statement to make it work?

Example of method that doesn't work because my string is too long (but works when I have a short string of members):

%%SAS

libname csf "path";

PROC SQL;
    CONNECT TO TERADATA(&TD);
    CREATE TABLE csf.data_table as
    Select * FROM CONNECTION TO TERADATA
    (

select
        a.member,
        a.clm_nbr,
        a.aud_nbr,

from 
        db.a a

where
	a.member in &mbr_str.
    );
    DISCONNECT FROM TERADATA;
QUIT;
5 REPLIES 5
sastpw
SAS Employee

Hey, just off the top of my head; I haven't tried it.Could you use a subquery instead of a list.

create a table with one column and all of those values as the rows, then have your where clause criteria be the subquery instead of the list:

```

where a.member in (select mem from temp_table)

``` 

As I don't see any real saspy code, this is just SAS proc sql, I'm guessing the list of members came from python?

You can have that as a dataframe and then use df2sd() to create the table (even in teradata) to then use it in the sql.

If I see more code (saspy, python side), I could probably code up something more specific.

Tom

flachboard84
Calcite | Level 5
Thanks, Tom! That’s definitely an option. I’m just looking to see if what I’m trying to do is an option as well.
sastpw
SAS Employee