BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
megan2
Calcite | Level 5

Hello,

I have a large dataset (n= 78,000) and am trying to run a hierarchical regression, controlling for multiple variables. I am new to using SAS and I am having difficulty getting SAS to run the regression reading all four levels of the province data that I have. The class level information from the results indicates it is only reading "Ontario's" data, and not the other 3 (AB, BC, QC) provinces. Other analysis I have run, have read each level of data fine. 

This is the code I am using:

proc glimmix data=work.combined;
CLASS approach province income enrolment urban CANNABIS_FREQ BINGE_DRINKING WEEKLY_SPENDING
SMOKING_STATUS;
MODEL CANNABIS_FREQ = SEX3 GRADE GETHNCL1 GETHNCC1 GETHNCN1 GETHNCA1 GETHNCH1
GETHNCM1 SMOKING_STATUS BINGE_DRINKING WEEKLY_SPENDING / SOLUTION;
RANDOM CANNABIS_FREQ / SUBJECT=approach SOLUTION;
run; 

and I attached my results output. 

Screen Shot 2020-03-27 at 3.22.27 PM.png

Any help is greatly appreciated!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
PaigeMiller
Diamond | Level 26

It's not clear you can "fix" missings. You can substitute some number for these missing, there's a lot of literature on how to do this, and also SAS has PROC MI. If the missings are all in a single column (you'd have to look to see if that is the case), then you could delete that variable from the model in PROC GLIMMIX.

--
Paige Miller

View solution in original post

6 REPLIES 6
PaigeMiller
Diamond | Level 26

Some possibilities:

1. The data set only has ON data. Do a PROC FREQ on work.combined and show us the results
  2. The data set has complete non-missing data only for ON. The other three provinces have missing data somewhere on every observation.