BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
rodneyc8063
Fluorite | Level 6

I am just starting out on my journey with SAS and am a bit confused about some SAS output.

I run this following code

DATA dates;
INPUT name$ bday date11.;
CARDS;
Sam 3 Jan 1960
George 12 Jul 1980
Lisa 14 feb 1975
Sean 14 feb 1975
;
RUN;

PROC PRINT DATA=dates;
FORMAT bday date9.;
RUN;

And notice that there is basically two outputs.

One output is the temporary data table. With this output, I am seeing the 'bday' column showing dates in a pure numeric format (SAS date format).

Whereas I also see the HTML output is displaying the 'bday' column with the dates as 03JAN1960 for example.

I am just curious, why there seems to be two different outputs? 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Reeza
Super User

In the  PRINT step you have a FORMAT statement. That controls the appearance of the date variable and shows it as a date, with the Date9 format. If you put the format int he data set, which you can, then it does it automatically, note the changes below and check the output. FORMATS are used to control the appearance of a variable WITHOUT changing the underlying value. 

DATA dates;
format bday yymmddd10.;
CARDS;
Sam 3 Jan 1960
George 12 Jul 1980
Lisa 14 feb 1975
Sean 14 feb 1975
;
RUN;
PROC PRINT DATA=dates;
*FORMAT bday date9.;
RUN;

@rodneyc8063 wrote:

I am just starting out on my journey with SAS and am a bit confused about some SAS output.

DATA dates;
CARDS;
Sam 3 Jan 1960
George 12 Jul 1980
Lisa 14 feb 1975
Sean 14 feb 1975
;
RUN;

PROC PRINT DATA=dates;
FORMAT bday date9.;
RUN;

One output is the temporary data table. With this output, I am seeing the 'bday' column showing dates in a pure numeric format (SAS date format).

Whereas I also see the HTML output is displaying the 'bday' column with the dates as 03JAN1960 for example.

View solution in original post

2 REPLIES 2
Reeza